Extra Credit – The Secret Lives of Tumblr Teens

Wow, a very interesting read. I’ve never really dived into Tumblr but my sister is all about it so I know a little bit here and there. I also know that Tumblr can be a place where you can blog about anything. And I mean it, anything.

This article was pretty great, the rise and fall of Pizza. I didn’t know who Pizza was, my sister probably did. But that’s unfortunate to hear about, although I kinda feel like they were kinda cheating the system. Yes the policies were changed for ad revenue on Tumblr, but I think that using someone to promote their brand is kinda sleezy, especially on the internet.

You see it all the time on TV but it’s not really a problem because commercials with someone representing that brand in inevitable. Shaq sponsored by Buick to sit in that tiny car, like, that’s hardly believable but who cares, it’s Shaq. However, if you are truly devoted to following this person, for example Pizza, then I would be insulted that she would push promoted content out like that.

I don’t think the term “selling out” really applies to this situation but I feel that it’s the correct term to use. When I think of selling out on the internet, I think of watching my favorite YouTube channels involved in cooking foods and then they turn it around and say, “Hey try out this knife, I recommend it!”. I understand that everyone has to make money somehow, it just feels insulting to me and maybe others may have felt that way.

It’s very amazing how you can start at such a young age and become really successful that quick over the internet. I don’t remember the exact numbers but I remember reading a check of 146k. That’s somebody’s yearly salary. Like how is that even possible.

The internet works in strange ways. I tried myself back in 2006 I believe, I created this video on YouTube where I showed the diagnostic menu on the 4th generation iPod Nano. The video got about 80,000 views. 80k. I was 11 years old in the 6th grade. PROOF of it here:

I got my first lick of internet fame and I started AdSense as well. The video is so old and the views have started to come to a halt but I have about 80$ waiting to be claimed. I can’t claim it until it reaches $100. It would be very nice to finally earn that $100, but I can only dream, so forever will the video stay dormant.

You see it everywhere on the internet, viral videos making way to internet stardom. Take for example KingBach on Vine, he started out making funny content on Vine when it just started but then his fame spread everywhere. Now this guy is on TV, magazines, he’s everywhere. I applaud people that make it big through the internet, I just wish I could too. But back to KingBach, just like Pizza, you start to see some sponsored content disguised as a Vine. You would be seeing product placement in the background or it being used as props. I hated seeing it because I always end up remember how they are now just a business making money off me, but that’s hypocritical of me to say. I am not disappointed in this trend just feel outsmarted.

This article does however inspire me, maybe I can try my luck again and find some internet fame. I just got a new car, maybe I’ll show it off or something, I don’t know. But I hope I could make it big one day like Pizza or Lilley/Greenfield did.

Leave a Reply

